Patience Is a Virtue I’m Learning To Possess

Patience: the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, trouble, or suffering without getting angry or upset. I think it’s something that at times, everybody struggles with. And boy do I feel like I’m struggling with it here recently. It’s been everything from something as simple as wishing Christmas was here already or as complicated as wondering what God’s plan for my life is. Tonight I took a step back and realized impatience gets you nowhere. Time is precious and our life here on earth is short, so why wish it away? I’m the type of person who loves counting down to special events, but if I spend all my time wishing for time to move faster to get to those events, I won’t be able to fully enjoy all that goes on in the meantime. Do you realize how much can happen in the course of a year? In the past year I lost friends, I gained friends, I graduated high school and started college. This year has been a lot of ups and downs and I’ve loved every minute of it. I’m learning that you can’t take anything for granted. I have to appreciate both the good and the bad because both have shaped me into the person I’m becoming. That means not wishing away the bad times too. And that’s something I’m still learning to do. I have to learn to be happy in the bad times and praise God through it all. God has a plan for my life and I’m learning to trust that every season I go through is leading me to the person He’s molding me to be. The bible has so much to say about patience and I can’t help but think that God is trying to tell us it’s important to Him. “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31. Being impatient when it comes to God’s timing shows a lack of trust in God. He had a plan for my life before my parents were even born so why on earth should I doubt the creator of the universe? “Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes. Stop being angry! Turn from your rage! Do not lose your temper—it only leads to harm. For the wicked will be destroyed, but those who trust in the Lord will possess the land.” Psalm 37:7-9. God sure does talk about waiting a lot. But if we try to do things on our own and do what we think like to convince ourselves is God’s plan, we’ll only fail. We can’t play God and we can’t rush the amazing things He has planned. Lack of patience can cause you to miss blessings and the greatness God has to offer. The next time you start to get impatient, no matter what it’s over, I challenge you to take a deep breath and ask God to give you the patience you need. God said it pretty clearly: “Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.” John 16:24. Once you give it all up to God, even the smallest things, you’ll be amazed at how much joy you’ll have in your heart and how much easier it’ll be to be patient. And that’s only the beginning of where He’ll take you.

3 thoughts on “Patience Is a Virtue I’m Learning To Possess

Leave a Reply

